17
Jun
09

Hello all!

Sorry to have disappoint any of you the past week with the no show blogging, I’ve been traveling great distances across NFLD, stuck with rainy days, had very poor connections for uploading and also spent some time marketing the flag mosaic for 2010.
As well I’m finding that I’m approaching my ninth month with much less steam and vigor then when I first started out. Even though this is my dream trip, it is still proving to be challenging on many fronts, firstly my marriage has been on hold for three months, which is taxing me to say the least. My wife Heide is very understanding, but we just got married last year and we miss each other madly. Secondly, living in a van and waking up with a different view ever morning is very cool, but think about it, all of us would miss those people and places in our day that make us who we are. Thirdly, I have been shooting the fishing and lobster industry, which is the Atlantic provinces main industry for three months and I need to change my subject to keep me interested. I’m heading for PEI directly, then into Quebec and Ontario for Canada day. The faces I need for the flag mosaic will be more of a focus in the coming months and I will be doing less travel imagery.
Next month, I’m flying myself and the dogs home for 13 days to see my wife and re-coop, I thought I could travel for a year straight, but I really must go home and see my wife and not move around for a few days. Check back later today and see what adventures I’ve come across, thanks for reading!
On the left is a fella by the name of Shawn, in the middle is myself and on the right is Toon, who I picked up hitch hiking six days ago, Toon has been travelling with me since Grand Falls, today we will be parting ways at the start of the Cabot Trail. Its been great having some company!

morning coffee
Company in the van! Last Friday night I had not one but too guests for a salmon dinner in Norris Point in Gros Morne National Park, Toon on the left i picked up the previous day on the road near Grand Falls, and Martin on the right with the banjo i picked up right in Norris Point in the pouring rain, I didn’t have the heart to leave him standing out in the cold so I invited him in for dinner and shelter for the night. We sang the same for four songs on Martin’s banjo for two hours, it was so much fun!!

june 13-
The morning after a night of playing the same four songs on Martin’s Banjo! Martin slept in the front seat, Toon on the floor and I slept in the double wide bed in the back with the two dogs. Meanwhile outside it poured buckets of rain.

june 13

Lobster Omlette in Norris Point!

june 14

Toon and I at the Louisbourg Lighthouse

june 16

Another night spent with ocean front property, I’ve spent three months with a view of the ocean out my window in the morning, I’m going to really miss it when it’s gone. Sunrise at the Louisbourg Lighthouse

june 161

3 Responses to “Hello all!”


  1. 1 Thomas
    June 17, 2009 at 10:50 pm

    I think what you are doing is amazing! I love Canada!

  2. 2 Marsha Lecour
    June 19, 2009 at 2:16 am

    Hey Tim,

    We met in Toronto back in the fall and came to my school and did an interview with me about my aunt St. Marguerite Bourgeoys.

    I think of you and Heide often and how inspiring you are. It’s tough beein away from your new wife.

    If you pass through Toronto when you reach Ontario, please call me (416 698 9196) or email me and I will take you out for a bite to eat.

    Give my love to Heide.

    Take good care of yourself and hope to see you in a few weeks.

    Marsha

  3. June 21, 2009 at 4:05 am

    I was away in Banff so I didn’t notice if you were posting. I was busy taking pictures. lol

    I’m glad you are taking a break and having some time with Heidi. I don’t think I’d lasted as long as you living in that tiny van. I’m glad you had some company for a while. That Martin has some serious hair.

    Have a safe trip home, I love coming here and seeing your travels. I love the faces of the people you meet, the stories you tell and the landscape you see.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 812,317 hits

Archives

Scroll Over Any Date and Travel Across Canada

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

