21
Jan
10

Pix Of The Day – A Frozen Frobisher Bay, Iqaluit, Nunavut

Without question I have picked the coldest time of the year to visit Nunavut. With the thermometer dipping to minus 31 and a 70 km/hr wind on top of that, I’ve had to question my smarts on visiting at the absolute coldest time of the year. Without question, this is a beautiful place, I’m just not sure about inhabiting these lands when there are plenty of warmer spots to set up a town. Many of the Inuit I speak with love it up here and ever embrace the cold as a way of life. Everyone, tells me I’ve got to come back in the summer, it’s beautiful, and I’m sure it’s quite a different place when it’s 45 degree warmer.

With the second highest tides in Canada here at Frobisher Bay, the ice heaves and creates mini mountains of sorts.

The wind whips around creating snow dunes, which shift and change shape with each hour.

The ground moves beneath you

My gear has been tested this week with these cold temperatures, one lenses, my main one is done, it no longer focuses, it thinks it’s focused, but its not. The gears must of gotten stripped out when I was focusing it manually. Yesterday a buckle snapped on my key camera bag, leaving me with no back up. we’ll see what happens today. Lucky for me, I have a Canada Goose jacket that is without question my lifesaver and gets me through the day without getting cold.

2 Responses to “Pix Of The Day – A Frozen Frobisher Bay, Iqaluit, Nunavut”


  1. 1 George Zwaagstra
    January 22, 2010 at 6:31 am

    I love your pics.from way up there.
    Just fantastic

  2. January 26, 2010 at 5:41 am

    You’re so dedicated. I hope the rest stands up to the test. Great shots Tim!


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 818,384 hits

Archives

Scroll Over Any Date and Travel Across Canada

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

